Link to the online tools and services page

West Virginia Office of
Emergency Medical Services

350 Capitol Street
Room 425
Charleston, WV 25301

Toll Free: 1-888--747-8367
OEMS Phone: (304) 558-3956
OEMS Fax: (304) 558-8379
Trauma Phone: (304) 290-9307
Trauma Fax: (304) 558-8379

Advisory Council Reappointed

While the information contained in this news article was current and accurate when we posted it, it may not necessarily represent current WVOEMS policy or procedure. If you have any questions, please contact our office at 304-558-3956.

Posted: Tuesday, December 23, 2008 9:04 AM

advisory_council_08_1.jpgGovernor Joe Manchin recently reappointed the West Virginia Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council (EMSAC). The Council serves in accordance with Chapter 16, Article 4C of West Virginia code.

The purpose of the EMSAC is: "…developing, with the commissioner, standards for emergency medical service personnel and for the purpose of providing advice to the office of emergency medical services and the commissioner with respect to reviewing and making recommendations for, and providing assistance to, the establishment and maintenance of adequate emergency medical services for all portions of this state."

Members of the Council are appointed from the following constituencies per state code: County Commissioner's Association,  WV Firemen's Association, WV Hospital Association, WV Chapter of American College of Emergency Physicians, WV EMS Administrator's Association, WV EMS Coalition, Ambulance Association of WV, State Department of Education, an EMT and a paramedic representing Mountain State EMS Association, a representative of small EMS providers, a representative of other EMS providers, and three members representing the general public.

Accepting  appointment by the Governor were:  Steven McEntire, Clarksburg;  Richard Rock, Clarksburg; Joe Coburn, Princeton;  John Ashcraft, New Cumberland;  Jim Kranz, Charleston;  Connie Hall, Coal City; Chip Sovick, Dunbar; Paul Seamann, Beckley;  Marcel Malfregot, Jr., Clarksburg;  Gordon Merry, Huntington;  Scott Edwards, Hurricane; Roger Curry, Fairmont;  Donna Steward, Springfield;  and Glen Satterfield, Fairmont.  The WV Chapter of ACEP did not nominate anyone for membership.

The Council met on December 16, 2009.  Paul Seamann was elected Chair, Steve McEntire was elected Vice-Chair.  Status reports were given by WVOEMS staff and WV EMS TSN.   The following EMS system priorities were reconfirmed by the Council:

  1. Certification and Testing
  2. Training and Education
  3. Recruitment and Retention

The status of WVOEMS' activity in each of the priority areas was reviewed.  Several items of old and new business were discussed.  The next EMSAC meeting will be March 17, 2009 at 1000 hours in the greater Charleston area.  MINUTES OF THIS AND FUTURE MEETINGS WILL BE POSTED ON THE WEB SITE AS SOON AS THEY ARE COMPLETED.

WVOEMS looks forward to working with the Council as we face the many EMS challenges of the future.

Privacy, Security and Accessibility | | | © 2013 State of West Virginia | webmail